Skip to content ↓


Early Years Foundation Stage Framework


What Is the Early Years Foundation Stage Statutory Framework?

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) statutory framework is a government document that all schools and Ofsted-registered early years providers in England must follow. It sets standards for the learning, development and care of your child from birth to 5 years old. The standards ensure your child will learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.


What Will My Child Be Learning?

The EYFS framework outlines seven areas of learning and development and educational programmes. There are three prime areas of learning, which are particularly important for your child’s development and future learning:

Communication and Language

Personal, social and emotional development


Physical Development


There are four specific areas of learning, through which the prime areas are strengthened and applied:


Understanding the World

Reception- UW . Dinosaur topic. The children can explore the fossils and  answer the questions on the table. | Early childhood teacher, Early  childhood, Dinosaur

Expressive arts and design


How Will My Child Be Learning?

The EYFS framework identifies the essential role of play in your child’s development. It is through both child-led play and play guided by an adult, that your child will develop confidence and relationships with others. Through play, our Early Years Team will help your child to extend their vocabulary and develop their communication skills.

The EYFS framework identifies three characteristics of effective teaching and learning:

A greater focus on teaching specific skills will occur as your children progress through their Reception year, which will help them to prepare for Year One.


How Will I Know How My Child Is Doing?

Our Early Years Team will use their professional knowledge to understand your child’s level of development. If we have any concerns about your child's progress, we will discuss these with you.

Three formal assessments take place during the EYFS:

  • Two-Year Progress Check (this will happen between the ages of 24 to 36 months)
  • Reception Baseline Assessment (at the start of the Reception year)
  • Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (at the end of the EYFS)

Discussions at Focus Child meetings will inform you on how your child is progressing. At the end of the academic year, a report will be given to you to inform you of your child’s progress and whether they have met or are continuing to work towards their early learning goals (ELGs). There are 17 ELGs your child is expected to achieve by the end of the EYFS.

Tapestry Online Learning Journal - YouTube

Early Years staff will use ‘Tapestry’, a secure online learning journey, to record photos, observations, and comments about your child to inform you on how they are getting on with their learning and to share ‘WOW’ moments with you. Tapestry will also allow teachers to upload videos of key teaching points to allow learning to be shared at home. Those new to Tapestry should have received an email to activate your Tapestry account. Please speak to a member of the Early Years Team if you have not received your activation email.


The changes to the Early Years Foundation Stage Framework

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) has been reformed and there is a new EYFS framework that all schools and settings are required to follow from September 2021. These national changes have been made to better support all pupils’ learning and development. It is also the aim that the new framework will better prepare pupils for the transition into Key Stage 1.

Below are some of the key points from the new EYFS reforms that include relevant changes:

  • Early Years staff will be spending less time on large amounts of written observations and assessments for evidence collection. This means they can spend more time supporting and engaging with the children and their learning and development needs.
  • Pupils will no longer be assessed against statements from an age band category. Instead, staff will use their experience and knowledge to monitor if a child’s learning and development is on track for their age.
  • The early learning goals at the end of reception have been changed to become clearer and easier to understand. Staff will use the judgements to assess if pupils have met these goals at the end of the EYFS and inform parents/carers.
  • There is an emphasis on improving pupil’s language and vocabulary through increasing opportunities for conversations, reading of a wide range of books and holding discussions around activities in other areas of learning.
  • Literacy and numeracy skills focused on in the EYFS have been adapted to better match up with the National Curriculum that starts in year 1.
  • There is no longer an exceeding judgement at the end of Reception. Pupils will instead be challenged to have a greater depth and understanding of ideas.
  • Safeguarding and welfare of pupils is still of utmost priority, with the added mention of teaching pupils about the importance of good oral health and how to keep teeth clean and healthy.

We hope that this has given you an insight into how/what your child will be learning this academic year.

You can find more information about our Foundation Stage by clicking here


Charlton Primary School
OX12 7HG


01235 762861